Email | Feedback | Contact | Sitemap
General InformationOverviewHistoryPeopleReligion & BeliefCultureCustoms & HabitsLanguage and LiteratureFestivals & Folk-gamesArt performanceCostumesArchitecture & Fine-artsFood, Flowers, FruitsMarketsAdministration Units
Ho Dynasty (1400-1407)
The Ho lasted for 7 years, from 1400 to 1407, with two kings: - Ho Quy Ly (1400) - Ho Han Thuong (1401 - 1407)
The oppressive occupation soon triggered fierce resistance. As early as the end of 1407, many uprisings began to occur. A descendant of the Tran Dynasty proclaimed himself king in 1407, taking the name Gian Dinh and setting up his headquarters in Nghe An Province.
Ming occupation and Lam Son insurrection
As early as JuIy 1407, the Ming emperor had incorporated Dai Viet into the Chinese empire under the title of Giao Chi Province, set up a central administration, and divided the country into phu and chau, trying to reach down to village level by 1419.
Le So Dynasty (1428-1527)
Towards the end of the 14th century, a great crisis shook the country. The Ming court, then reigning in China, took advantage of this to invade Dai Viet and to impose a form of direct rule which was to last for twenty years (1407-1427). However, the invaders encountered stiff resistance from the beginning, and national independence was eventually wrested back in 1427 by Le Loi, the founder of the Le Dynasty.
Mac Dynasty
Mac Dynasty lasts for 151 years (1527 – 1677), including 10 reigns: - Mac Thai To (1527-1529) - Mac Thai Tong (1530-1540) - Mac Hien Tong (1541-1546) - Mac Tuyen Tong (1546-1561) - Mac Mau Hop (1562-1592) - Mac Toan (1592) - Mac Kinh Chi (1592-1593) - Mac Kinh Cung (1593-1625) - Mac Kinh Khoan (1623-1638) - Mac Kinh Vu (1638-1677).
Le Trung Hung Dynasty
Le Trung Hung Dynasty exists 256 years (1533-1789) and was divided into two periods: South Dynasty – North Dynasty and Trinh – Nguyen War
Trinh – Nguyen War
After Mac Dynasty was established, the Trinh clan mobilized a resistance against the Mac Dynasty. In 1592, the Trinh clan conquered Thang Long and King Le came back to the throne but the power belonged to the Trinh Lords. Meanwhile, in the South, the Nguyen Lords extended their land to the Mekong River Delta and carried out a resistance against the Trinh Lords.
Tay Son Dynasty
Kings of Tay Son Dynasty (1778-1802): - Thai Duc (1778-1793) - Quang Trung (Nguyen Hue) (1789-1792) - Canh Thinh (1793 - 1802)
Nguyen Dynasty
Kings of Nguyen Dynasty (1802-1945): - Gia Long (1802-1819) - Minh Menh (1820-1840) - Thieu Tri (1841-1847) - Tu Duc (1848-1883) - Duc Duc (1883, 3 days) - Hiep Hoa (1883, 4 months). - Kien Phuc (1883-1884) - Ham Nghi (1884-1885) - Dong Khanh (1886-1888) - Thanh Thai (1889-1907) - Duy Tan (1907-1916) - Khai Dinh (1916-1925) - Bao Dai (1926-1945)
French domination period (1857-1945)
On August 31, 1858, a French naval squadron attacked Da Nang, launching several episodes of a war of colonial conquest waged by French imperialism between 1858 and 1884 and resulting in the total annexation of the country.